Go back

Introduction part 4 - Typologica

27.09.2024

Part 3

I mentioned Personality Database quite a few times on this site, and I'm sure I expressed my disappointment in this hellhole well enough already, but I didn't tell you why it was important to me in the first place.

You see, besides typology, I also love nerding about fictional characters, but that still doesn't tell you just how invested I am in them. Not even fictional worlds or magic systems or whatever, just the characters and their psychology. And you know what you can find on PDB? Long essays on typology of fictional characters, and also people passionately arguing about things that normal people would consider a total waste of time!

But over time, and with my progressing knowledge of typology systems, I noticed that people there don't really talk about typology, not as the main focus. In truth, PDB, just like any other social media, is just a bunch of people (in this case, teenagers) trying to assert their dominance and bully others into submitting to their opinions. And it's not even the hostile atmosphere that disappoints me, but the fact that people there don't even care about typology or critical analysis of media! Now, at some point I thought of interfering and establishing my own orders to teach the ignorant masses to think critically and be tolerant of others' point of view. But even if I can manage to do that in theory, would that make me any happier? The answer was no.

And so, I settled for an alternative that will help me fix my already deteriorating mental state. That's how Typologica came to be - it was born from frustration and loneliness, but, more importantly, from passion, and it's the latter thing that will keep it afloat.